PayPal Phishing Scam - Access from a Foreign IP address
VERY IMPORTANT INFORMATION, READ THIS FIRST: The example and associated information published on this page are subject to the SHPAMEE Terms Of Use. Please familiarise yourself with these terms before viewing or using any information on this page.
Header:
X-Account-Key: account8
X-UIDL: x
X-Mozilla-Status: 0001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
X-Mozilla-Keys:
X-Apparently-To: x
X-YahooFilteredBulk: 222.72.85.4
X-Originating-IP: [222.72.85.4]
Authentication-Results: mta160.mail.ukl.yahoo.com from=paypall.com; domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
Received: from 222.72.85.4 (EHLO tmserver.tmsgm.com) (222.72.85.4)
by mta160.mail.ukl.yahoo.com with SMTP; Fri, 11 Jul 2008 23:10:44 +0000
Received: from User ([74.202.4.42]) by tmserver.tmsgm.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.1830);
Sat, 12 Jul 2008 07:04:29 +0800
Reply-To: <no-replay@paypall.com>
From: "service@paypall.com"<service@paypall.com>
Subject: Notification of Limited Account Access.
Date: Fri, 11 Jul 2008 16:16:13 -0700
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html;
charset="Windows-1251"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2600.0000
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2600.0000
Bcc:
Message-ID: <x@tmserver.tmsgm.com>
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 11 Jul 2008 23:04:29.0343 (UTC) FILETIME=[78F692F0:01C8E3AA]
Body:
|
|
| Copyright © 1999 - 2008 PayPal. All rights reserved. |
Comments:
[Previous Example] [Back To The Main SHPAMEE Index] [Next Example]
or 



Dear PayPal valued account holder,

You will notice that the same template was used in the Chase phishing example, the only difference is the Chase logo and the references to JPMorgan Chase & Co., the anchor text of the phishing link and the alleged IP address and ISP host.
But you want your victims to log into the account and "fill in the required informations"?
A phishing scammer telling the truth, so there is hope after all. A reply to service@paypall.com (pay attention the double 'l') is obviously not the same as a reply to service@paypal.com. The sender's e-mail address can easily be spoofed, so even an e-mail that appears to be from service@paypal.com, is absolutely no guarantee that it really came from PayPal.com. PayPal will anyway never send e-mails like this.